Candidates for
NC House of Representatives

Matt Hughes
Candidate – District 50

Without protecting our democracy nothing else matters. If we lose it, we won’t get it back. We have politicians in both Raleigh and Washington working to undermine democracy and the right to vote every day. I will support independent redistricting, remove barriers to voting, increase funding for elections, and fight against allowing the legislature to override the will of the voters. After January 6th our democracy proved to be resilient but still very fragile. We must work hard to protect and expand the franchise.

Renee Price
Candidate – District 50

Currently serving as Chair of the Orange BOCC, in my tenth year as commissioner, I now am Candidate for NC House, District 50.  I have spent a lifetime advocating for humanity and justice and will continue demanding and fighting for our freedoms, rights, and democracy. Among my priorities: Basic Education, Criminal Justice Reform, Voting Rights, Right to Representation, Healthcare, Housing, Climate Justice, Broadband, Economic Development. My tagline, “We the people,” indicates my respect for Community.

Allen Buansi
Candidate – District 56

I am a civil rights lawyer and former Chapel Hill Town Council member. I spearheaded progressive policies on the Council, such as the first-ever Town Criminal Justice Debt Fund. I grew up here, and I’m a husband and a proud, working parent of three. I’ll fight for well-funded public education, climate justice and affordable healthcare. I will not rest until we realize our vision of an affordable, accessible and inclusive North Carolina for everyone.

Jonah Garson
Candidate – District 56

I am a grassroots organizer and attorney running to build Democratic power statewide. As a Chapel Hill native and CHHS (’05)/UNC (’09) alumnus, I have deep ties to this community. My local organizing work includes serving as Orange Dems Chair and a CH-C NAACP Executive Committee Member. My commitment to the statehouse fight extends back a decade, having been field coordinator for legislative challengers and voter protection director in the NC-9 “re-do” election.